Points of View

Points of View (2009)
Anne Hills
Appleseed Recordings APR1119

After a decade of collaborations with fellow musicians (including Tom Paxton and Michael Smith), Victorian-era poets (James Whitcomb Riley) and child naturalists (Opal Whiteley), Points of View celebrates Anne’s much anticipated return to her own originals. With one of the most celebrated voices in contemporary folk, Anne’s empathic and caring spirit informs the CD’s 11 originals, covering subjects as varied as diversity, individuality, love, loss, and resilience to a changing world. The release is rounded out by her interpretations of songs by Leonard Cohen and Peter Mayer. Throughout, Anne’s voice, banjo and guitar are backed by co-producer and multi-instrumentalist Scott Petito, Grammy-winning cellist Eugene Friesen, Peter Vitalone on keyboards and Sam Zucchini on drums, with additional vocals by Priscilla Herdman and Cindy Mangsen. Here’s a tracklist with a couple samples:

  1. I Am You
  2. Pennsylvania
  3. Two Year Winter
  4. The Farm
  5. Alexandra Leaving
  6. My Daughter and Vincent van Gogh
  7. A Plain Song
  8. I’m Nobody
  9. The Moon’s Song
  10. Holy Now
  11. Gardens
  12. Romeo & Juliet
  13. Leaf

To purchase this CD ($15 plus p&h): or print an order form to mail with a check.