The Things I Notice Now

The Things I Notice Now cover

The Things I Notice Now (2012)
Anne Hills sings the songs of Tom Paxton
Appleseed Recordings APR1133


Anne was a 15-year-old student at Michigan’s Interlochen Arts Academy in the 1970s when she first heard Tom Paxton on her roommate’s stereo. Fast forward a few years and she found herself collaborating with Tom and the late Bob Gibson as the Best of Friends trio (1984-85). With the release of The Things I Notice Now, Anne’s new 12-song CD of all-Paxton compositions, the circle is complete.

Tom Paxton was one of the very first folksingers in the Greenwich Village scene of the early ’60s to write his own topical and personal material. “That a writer could change the world for the listener and change their political view from a personal place” was a revelation and inspiration to Anne. For this collection, rather than recycle Paxton’s best-known and most-covered songs, Anne solicited suggestions from Tom and added favorites of her own to create this loving tribute.

The Things I Notice Now takes a long look at real life: lovers and families separated by economics or exhausted emotions; splintering communities; the passage of time; lethal jobs; and the poor as pawns of politics. Anne’s lovely soprano voice (joined by Tom on three songs) brings each situation to vivid life. As Tom says, “I revel in the power of that voice of hers.”

Intimate, understated backing is provided by Anne’s longtime friends and collaborators Scott Petito (production, keyboards, guitars, bass); her former classmates at Interlochen Chris Brubeck (trombone) and Peter Erskine (drums, percussion), both established jazz musicians; frequent performing and recording partner Cindy Mangsen (accordion, concertina), and Anne herself on guitar. Here’s a tracklist with a couple of samples:

  1. The Things I Notice Now
  2. Icarus
  3. Cindy’s Crying
  4. Early Snow
  5. Hard Times Are Here Again
  6. Hold On to Me, Babe
  7. Time To Spare
  8. Mother
  9. Dogs At Midnight
  10. When Princes Meet
  11. Redemption Road
  12. Every Time

Click HERE to download the complete lyrics for the CD.

To purchase this CD ($15 plus p&h):
or print an order form to mail with a check.